Posted in Events

You asked, he answered


Hugo Lloris just got off from answering fans’ questions over on Facebook. This time around, some good ones were asked. I took the Q&A from Spurs official Facebook.

Q: Would you say there’s a difference in goalkeeping style between the Premier League and Ligue 1? How have you had to adapt?

A: Goalkeeping is universal but you have to adapt your game in the Premier League because there is more contact with the goalkeeper. The referees let the game flow much better. This is the charm of the Premier League. Decision making is important for a goalkeeper.

Who is your favourite goalkeeper of all time?

Casillas, Buffon, Barthez. It’s difficult to choose one.

When someone is taking a penalty, what goes through your mind and makes the decision of what way to go?

There is no secret to saving a penalty. It’s very tough but you have to give yourself a chance to stop it. To do that you have to concentrate. You have to look at his face, his position but after that it’s only your feeling. Video can help too but it’s mainly feeling on the pitch. It’s very different in training and a real match.

What made you become a goalkeeper?

I started with tennis but I started to play football and just said I want to be a goalkeeper. Don’t ask me why! It was just my feeling. I wanted to be decisive for the team.

Do u think you can captain France to winning the euros in 2016?

It’s our target but we know there will be a lot of big football nations there. When you play at home you need the ambition.

What do you like to do outside of training?

I enjoy spending time with my children. That’s the main thing for me outside of football.

You have well sculpted stubble. Do you do your own facial hair, or do you use a barber?!

Thank you Jim! I do it myself!

Who was your idol as a kid?

Pete Sampras. I loved watching him play tennis. His attacking style was great.

Are you thinking of climbing Mt. Everest in your lifetime? if yes, i will be at airport to receive you

Before I do Mt. Everest I need to start with Mont Blanc.

Who is the funniest player at Tottenham? Could you tell us about his worst joke that you ever heard?

Adebayor and Sandro. If you spend time with them you are bound to laugh!

Hugo, what part of your game has improved the most since joining Tottenham?

I feel I have improved the most off the pitch. There are challenges that you have to overcome. I think I’ve improved all round.

What’s it like to know that millions of people see you as an idol?

I don’t think about that I just try to do my job. You have to stay focused.

Who is the best player you have ever played against?

Suarez, Messi, Raul, Ronaldo. It’s difficult to choose just one player!

Who is the most playful person in training?

Adebayor. He always plays with a smile on his face. He is always laughing!

Who’s got the most difficult shot to deal with out of the spurs team?

Eriksen. You cannot read his shot.

What was it like to captain your country

I am very proud of it. It’s a big responsibility.

What thoughts go through your head before a big game?

You are just thinking about the game. I always feel better once I get out on the pitch and do a warm-up. Otherwise you just get yourself into your own zone.


https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152352224993505

Watch the interview here:

Author:

My heart simply beats football.

Leave a Reply

